MBS Economics Class and BFI Club Visit Bloomberg Headquarters

MBS Economics Class and BFI Club Visit Bloomberg Headquarters

On Tuesday, December 6, Mr. Kamil’s Economics class and members of the BFI (Business, Finance and Investment) Club traveled to New York City to get a tour of Bloomberg Headquarters, where they learned how the company prepares and delivers business and financial news and information to its worldwide audience. 

The trip was graciously hosted by MBS alumnus Nick Rella ‘15, who works as an Enterprise Relationship Manager at Bloomberg.

After arriving at the headquarters on Lexington Avenue, the students toured the ultramodern building which opened in 2004. The students were impressed by the design of the building, which features huge glass walls curving around a courtyard, neon accents and more than 30 fish tanks. The tour guide explained about the company’s commitment to sustainability and diversity, as well as its emphasis on transparency in the workplace – even the conference rooms have glass walls.

The group got a quick look at the Bloomberg TV studio, control room and radio station before heading up to the 29th floor for a breathtaking view of Manhattan.  After that, the students got an overview of the company which employs more than 20,000 people in 150 offices worldwide. They also got a demonstration of the Bloomberg Terminal, a computer software system provided by the company that allows users to monitor and analyze real-time financial market data and place trades on its electronic trading platform. The system also provides news, price quotes, and messaging across its proprietary secure network.

Nearly 30 students participated in the field trip including: Justin Benbassat, Pierce Brucker, Alexander Conway, Thomas Cotter, Ryan DeKuyper, Christian Ewig, Charlie Holdsworth, Aaron Hong, Jonathan Hong, Emma Hughes, Liam Hughes, Hollis Humphries, Charles Hutchinson, Max Masino, Amelia McNamara, Matthew Mortazavi, Zubin Pande, Carter Pierson, David Powar, Sasha Proper, Karine Sauan Gregorian, John Scordley, Yash Shah, Ruben Taits, Brendan Tartaglione, Matthew Teitelbaum, Jack Webb, and Jack Wentworth.

They were accompanied by Mr. Kamil, Ms. Muttick, and Mr. McDonald.


More News from Morristown Beard School