Racial Justice Task Force

The Racial Justice Task Force (RJTF) was formed on July 8, 2020 to help Morristown-Beard School achieve our goal of becoming an inclusive and anti-racist community.

The RJTF reports directly to the Board of Trustees and is chaired by two Board members.  Lead by a Steering Committee that includes a third-party Diversity, Equity and Inclusion consultant, external community leaders with no ties to the School, alumni, students, parents, faculty, staff, and administrators, this task force is committed to evolving the policies and practices of MBS to reflect an anti-racist agenda.

The function of the Steering Committee is to gather, review, and analyze key data to identify preliminary areas for improvement.  The Task Force will develop a series of short and long-term recommendations and present their findings directly to the Board of Trustees.

We intend that these efforts enhance Morristown-Beard School for all current and future students, for alumni, and for all members of our community.

Steering Committee

Shanae Green – Trustee & Parent ’27
Carisa Strauss – Trustee & Parent ’20, ’22 ’24

Dena Baptiste – Trustee & Parent ’14
Cartwright Wallace ’93 – Trustee & Alumni
Boni Luna – Administration
Klarissa Karosen – Administration
Robert Mitchell – Administration & Parent ’15, ’20, ’23
Ryan Liese – Administration
Tashia Martin ’01 – Alumni
Ian Elmore-Moore ’09 – Alumni
J’Meeyah White ’22 – Student
Mikail Patankar ’21 – Student
Xola Moody ’24 – Student
Kate Muttick ’97 – Faculty/Staff & Alumni
Monya Taylor Davis ’88 – Faculty/Staff & Alumni
Kim Sgro – PA President & Parent ’22, ’24
James White –  Parent ’22
Imani Moody – Parent ’20, ’22
Akbar Cook – Independent Advisor, Principal at West Side High School, Newark