Hall of Fame

The 2015 Induction Ceremony of the Morristown-Beard School Athletic Hall of Fame will be held on Friday, October 2nd, 2015 at the School. See below for the schedule of activities for the evening.

Homecoming 2015 Schedule of Events

Friday, October 2, 2015

5:30 p.m.Athletic Hall of Fame Pre-Ceremony Reception - Kirby Chapel
(Beard Hall)
6:00 p.m.

Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony – Kirby Chapel
2015 MBS Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees –

  • John Hatch ’66 – Football (Posthumous)
  • Carey (Scully) Strobeck ’92 – Lacrosse, Field Hockey, & Ice Hockey
  • Michael Betz, Jr. ’08 – Baseball, Football, and Ice Hockey
  • Julie Guempel ’09 – Field Hockey, Track and Field
6:45 p.m.Alumni Tailgate Buffet - Wilkie Hall 
7:00 p.m.Morristown-Beard School Crimson Football vs. Butler High School -
Burke Field
HalftimeOn-field recognition of Athletic Hall of Fame Recipients & the 23rd
annual running of the Kirby Mile – Burke Field

The above mentioned events are free, however registration by Friday, September 25, 2015 is required. Please contact Monya Taylor ’88 Associate Director of Alumni Relations and Annual Giving to confirm your attendance - mtaylor@mbs.net or 973-532-7578.

See below for highlights and a slide show from last year's program - the Athletic Hall of Fame and Alumni Tailgate 2014.

The 2014 Induction Ceremony of the Athletic Hall of Fame was held on Friday, October 17, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. The deserving recipients were Bruce Driver and David Reiley, founding coaches of the Girls' Ice Hockey program and Elizabeth "Betsy" Bayne Curtis ’81 a multi-talented three-sport athlete who continued to participate in athletics in college and beyond.

In 1986, the Alumni Association and the Crimson Club created the Hall of Fame Award to honor sportsmanship, team spirit and athletic achievement while in school and after graduation. The award recognizes both individuals and teams who have made a mark in athletic competition while at Beard, Morristown, or Morristown-Beard School and/or later in their lives.

Any member of the Morristown School, Beard School or Morristown-Beard School community may make a nomination. However, candidates may not be considered for induction until five years after their graduation.

This award is given to recognize graduates from the Beard School, Morristown School or Morristown-Beard School who have made their mark on the world in their field, and/or have done great things for their alma mater. Any alumnus or alumna may be nominated; current members of the Board of Trustees and the Alumni Board are not eligible to receive this award.

Please nominate a Beard, Morristown, or Morristown-Beard graduate you feel merits this honor. 

Hall of Fame Winners


Elizabeth "Betsy" Bayne Curtis ’81

Bruce Driver

David Reiley

Eddie Franz, Coach '88

Nicole Ortner '78

Stephen M. Fusco '79

Melissa Pratt '92

Benjamin "Spike" Billings

C. Ingersoll Arnold '35

James T. Barnes, Jr. '65

Field Hockey Team '79

Lawrence Stephen O'Hearn '83


Charlotte Glutting '27

Clifford E. Engler '37

Elizabeth White Drobac '39

John P. Hurley '41

Jonathan A. Vlachos '66


Tiffany Garris '05

Cross Country Teams of 1960 & 1961


Matt McKenna '91

James "Bubba" Young '97

Michael McCabe '97

Kevin McDonald '98


Ice Hockey Team '65

Ice Hockey Team '66

Richard H. Palmer '75

LeDonne M. Simmons '76


Charles Bensley '76

Adam Diglio '84

Katherine Ewig DiNardo '93


Lynn Daniels

Peter A. Flipse '47

Andrew S. Pollak '80

Edward J. Towers III '80


Rudolph W. Herms '54

Paul R. Koepff '65

Mary Stuart Firth Hoffman '73

Louise van der Does '87


George L. Fessenden

Alice C. Francis Wolf '24

R. Jack Garnaus '35

Nancy Tasman Brower '47

Football Team '48


Taryn Barnes Peppo '86

Amy Arnold '97

Jyles Tucker '02


John Ziegler '86

Softball Team '86

Herman Kurz '86


Peter Chavonelle

Soccer Team '68

Soccer Team '74

Hockey Team '75


Francis H. Glazebrook Jr. '29

John H. Burke, Jr. '43

Helen Boynton Burrall '43

Douglas R. Kramer '71

Sarah L. Somers '86


Col. David Pallister '34

Kenneth H. McKinley '40

Tennis Team '69

Jeffrey R. Stansbury '74

Kim Thompson Brower '86


Charles J. Nevin '30

Lawrence Totton '55

Ann Linen Probert '56

S. Peter Franklin '69


Jim Eagan, Coach

Finn Wentworth '76

Richard Timek, Coach

Eric Feasey '48

Wrestling Team '65

Brooke Billings Bulmer '82

James J. Manias '92


John M. Hildreth '32

Richard H. Palmer '47

Sandra Paine Stewart '64

Daniel A. Gonnella '72


Burton Talmage '49

Penelope Probert Boorman '51

William F. Fisher '69

Robert N. Tucker IV '80

Merrill C. Chapman '84


John Burke

Eunice Child

Elsa Kingman Newberry '27

Carl R. Kinscherf '38

Ernest T. Savignano '38

Arthur D. Ayrault, Jr. '52

Margo Smith Heyd '58

Sally J. Brennan Cable '80

  • 70 Whippany Road
  • Morristown, NJ 07960
  • Phone: 973-539-3032
  • Fax: 973-539-1590
powered by finalsite